Living Tangerine Vs. The Caveman

9 Feb

Remember when you were young? Either there was one fat kid in your “gang”, or if you were unlucky like me, you were the fat kid. When I grew up in the 90’s, the percentage of childhood obesity wasn’t as high as it is today, but having a 12 year old sister who grew up a little hefty, I can say things haven’t changed much. I grew up constantly being made fun of, even though I ran with the popular kids in my younger days.  In hindsight, I kind of appreciate it. It’s made me compassionate, and has offered me some character.

Now, I lived for a long time thinking “So what! I’m fat, get over it!” but yes, although some have perceived me to be “wise-beyond-my-years“, there are some things only time can teach us. I have learned, fairly recently, that I am not invincible. The ailment of my mother highlighted that.

Take a 47 year old woman in her optimal BMI, who was physically active, and who had a moderate diet. Doesn’t seem likely that this person would contract cancer and die, now does it?

Sad truth is, cancer runs in my family. My Great-Grandmother had ovarian cancer when she was younger, my Grandmother had breast cancer not long ago, and now finally my mother with pancreatic cancer that claimed her life. I started to sweat.

Things were not looking so good for me.

As much as I didn’t want to have to admit it to myself, I had a very good chance of contracting some kind of cancer, or at the very least developing type 2 diabetes if I didn’t take steps towards significantly improving my health. QUICKLY!

About a year ago, I found the blog Free the Animal, written by a man who had decided to go “Paleo”. What was meant by this was that he was eating and acting much like a man who lived approximately 40,000 years ago. He stopped consuming grains and dairy, he started exercising more while consuming plenty of meats and only the fruits and vegetables that could be gained through “foraging” (ex. berries, apples, flowering vegetables like cucumbers, etc). He found that he very rapidly returned to perfect health, dropping a tonne of weight and gaining a lot of lean muscle mass.

Since then I’ve been watching the Underground Wellness channel on YouTube, and reading the host, Sean Croxton’s, blog (UndergroundWellness.com). He’s a helpful guy who’s more than happy to reach out to his viewers to offer advice and tips. He himself has been talking about a diet high in saturated omega fats and vitamins.

It was around this time that that I read “The Ultimate Metabolism Diet” and learned about “Metabolic Syndrome“. It’s estimated that 60% of the obese populate in the United States may exhibit symptoms of Metabolic Syndrome, and almost 100% of them will go undiagnosed. People with Metabolic Syndrome have a significantly increased risk of cancer, cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and sleep apnoea.

People who have metabolic syndrome tend to have the “apple shape” body type, have insulin resistance, high cholesterol and triglycerides. My family physician has made comments about my triglycerides before, and although my cholesterol is fine, I am generally pretty apple shaped. There are a number of other symptoms in the book that I align too that I won’t go into detail about here.

The book suggested the Paleo Diet, which insists that due to the fact that the human digestive tract has hardly evolved in the last 40,000 years, we should be eating like our paleolithic ancestors. Lots of lean meat, fruits and non-starchy vegetables.

Now, you might be thinking that getting rid of not just all grains, but also dairy to top it off, is impossible. Well, it’s not been easy, considering I’ve had to contend with two birthday cakes this week. Somehow, I turned both of them down. I’ve been chugging back the water, eating more vegetables than ever before, and suddenly, I’ve noticed that my fascination with food is almost completely gone.

Last night I listened as my boyfriend drooled over descriptions of steak with blue-cheese sauce and massive burgers. All the while I kind of wondered why our society is so hung up on this stuff. Obviously it’s bad for us, but we’re obsessed with it. Every time I go out with my friends, we’re always chatting over dinner, or drinking at a someone’s house. Why does socializing come with the customary 2000 – 3000 calories?

by David Kessler

In “The End Of Overeating” we read about the junk food trifecta: Fat, Sugar, Salt. Every single processed food item has been created by engineers to appeal to consumers in hopes that they will purchase them again. In short, the people who own McDonalds, BurgerKing, Subway, and countless other corporate food companies, want you to become ADDICTED to their food. They want you to keep buying their food, because they’re not in the business of your health, they’re in the business of money-making. If they create a food product will all three of these products: fat, sugar and salt; they know without a shadow of a doubt that we’ll keep coming back for more. We’re evolutionary predisposed to!

I’m happy that I’m on my way to ridding myself of the addiction.

I’ve already felt some of the results. My skin is already in the process of clearing itself up. Hydrating myself properly and getting enough natural vitamins gives me PLENTY of energy. Lean meat is keeping me full and relatively craving free. Do I still want sugar and potatoes and rice? Sure! But they’re the things that got me into the mess in the first place.

It took me 24 years to get this way. I’ll not be able to fix it over-night.

Wanna know the really funny bit? My office is organizing a bake sale x_X Just shoot me already!

Leave a Reply

