Review: Book – The Seven Spiritual Laws of Superheroes

9 Jul

I grew up admiring superheroes. I am one of the 98% of my generation who grew up consumed with one superhero or another. For me, the very first superhero I admired was Sailor Moon. God, I thought she was so cool. She was lazy, bad at school, and a little boy crazy, except at night she would transform into this amazing superhero who could save the world if she just believed in herself. In a nutshell, I saw myself in that cute little blond girl. When you’re ten years old, that’s pretty powerful stuff… and when you feel inadequate the way I did growing up, it’s really easy to say to yourself:

“Hey! Maybe I’m a superhero too.”

I wished, and wished and wished with all my might that I would wake up one morning and something would be different about me, but every day I got a little older, and a little more jaded. Around the time that I turned sixteen I realized there was nothing super about me, and that I would never be the superhero I wanted to be so much. So, for years I waded around in a haze. I felt almost compelled to submit to the mediocrity of life. After all… what’s the point in being super when everyone else is trying to be super too? How can I compete when there are so many other people in the world who are way better than me.

Well, that was the mentality at the time. It was so easy to become a member of the flock, and I had some dreams that just seemed so impossible. In fact I still do.

That’s why I think if I ever met Deepak Chopra, we’d be really good friends.

The book I most recently read was The Seven Spiritual Laws of Superheros, which Deepak wrote in conjunction with his son Gotham (yep, pretty much the most badass name ever). Gotham, you see, is the head of Virgin Comics, and worked with his father to retool the book The Seven Laws of Success to appeal to a different market.

Now, don’t get me wrong, there’s some DEEP stuff in this book. There were a couple things that Chopra outlines about superheros that made me realize that without even acknowledging it, I was on my way to becoming a superhero… or at least possessing the mentality of one. He outlines the importance of mental balance and discipline, and how acting with the heart in conjunction with the head will always achieve positive results.

The book isn’t very long – maybe only 165 pages, and it outlines some very important life lessons that people, young and old, should give some conscious thought to. Learning how to act with patience and consistency to achieve success, maintaining a healthy mental state and body to be able to react to anything that may come your way, and taking our hardships and using them to make us better, yet at the same time, maintaining our ego.

Deepak acknowledges that there are a massive amount of people who just float through life. It’s not even by any decision of their own, but some people don’t acknowledge their consciousness and their reality on the same level that others do. In fact, some people downright despise the idea of philosophy and would rather try to maintain a blissful state of being with themselves for as long as possible, (which usually lasts somewhere into your 40’s). Thing is, personal reflection, honesty, and improvement should be a part of all our lives. I think more than anything else, this is what the book is made to outline.

So, will I ever be Sailor Moon? Probably not… but maybe it was never important to be a superhero, so much as it is to feel like one. I actually kind of do.

Next time, I’ll be reading a book that deflates my massive, massive ego.

Kidding! Next book review is “The Elegance of the Hedgehog” by Muriel Barbery

Leave a Reply

