This Ain’t No Disney Park Ride, Boy! – Why the world our parents grew up in is not the world we live in today.

16 Sep

Recently having watched a documentary on the dangers of anti-depressant use in children, I speculated for a moment exactly why problems like Autism, ADHD, and other behavioural issues have only reared their heads in recent years.

But let’s take a step back for a moment.

I see and speak to my Great-Grandmother on a fairly regular basis. I visit her about once a week, and we talk about topics as light as the weather, to as heavy as life and death. Recently we’ve been speaking a lot more about health, and in particular, cancer. Now, to most people my age, cancer is something we hear about and see every day. We’re constantly reading in the news about cancer rates spiking, or hearing about some new kind of cancer impervious to treatment. So, imagine my surprise when she says, “I don’t get it! When I was a kid, none of the old people died from cancer. None of the young people, neither. Cancer was just something no one ever worried about.”

I think at this point, we know what the cause of most major disease is – modernization. Back when my Great-Grandmother was a child, plastic was a very rare thing. You certainly weren’t cooking your meals in it, nor were you drinking your water out of it. Plastic was an industrial product, and companies didn’t start benefiting from it’s convenience until much later. It wasn’t until the 40’s that we started using plastics to preserve our meals. and right up until the 60’s Coca-Cola bottled all their beverages is glass. Now, Coke’s been in the market for over 100 years… but it’s only recently that they’ve started using modernizations like plastic and HFCS (high-fructose corn syrup). I’d say if it was only the Coca-Cola company who was using these products, then it’s no big deal! Take a minute and look around your house. You can probably spot ten things in the room you’re in alone that are created using plastic.

Oil’s been called a lot of things, one of my personal favourite’s is the “Devil’s Blood”. People don’t seem to realize how much havoc it’s reaping in our lives. Oil runs cars and machines that pollute the air, their bi-products create plastic which pollute the ground, the oceans and our bodies. And when I tell my Great-Grandmother this… she just shakes her head and looks out the window. Her view is of the hospital where my Mother received her cancer diagnosis.

“They don’t care about us,” she tells me rather sadly. “They care about money, but they don’t care about us.” Then with a defiant finger, she points up the sky and raises her eyebrows over the rim of her massive old-lady glasses and says, “Their money won’t save them from God.”

To which I replied, “Grandma, that’s the most badass thing you’ve ever said.”

But, I digress. I wonder what would happen to the state of the world and the state of our health if we abandoned these modern conveniences. They say if you have pain, that’s just a symptom of a bigger issue. Well, I suggest to you that diseases like cancer, ADHD, maybe even Autism (who’s rates have surged since the 1980’s) are symptoms of a sick society. Our society has been made sick by oil, and the greed of a few rich men.

Perhaps my Grandmother is right… they really don’t care about us. So, if they’re not going to care, then we need to start taking care of ourselves. All I can do is hope that there is a God, because the greedy can’t evade justice forever… and as I remember, greed is a deadly sin.

One Response to “This Ain’t No Disney Park Ride, Boy! – Why the world our parents grew up in is not the world we live in today.”

  1. June September 17, 2011 at 1:09 AM #

    wow..this is sooo creepy Chantalle, I was just talking about plastics today! and not in a good way. Our world as we ‘enjoy’ it would stop without plastics. They are so ingrained in our world today; it would shreek to a stop! We’d go back to the stone age. I for one wish there were a way to untwine us, but I fear it is next to impossible. And so this is the world we live in, and it’s not through showing us the mistakes developed with plastics.

Leave a Reply

