do ALL the things!

8 Nov

All of them you say, my good man?

It’s fair to say that everyone has a bucket list. Whether you actually take the time to write it down or if you have a short list of things just stored in your head, you know that there are at least a few things that you need to do before you kick the bucket.

My list now had 283 things on it.

Some of which include:

– Learn to play the guitar
– Drive cattle on horseback through the Australian outback
– Learn to SCUBA dive
– Drive a very expensive car through the streets of Tokyo at night
– Win big in Vegas

Truth be told, I have a lot of stuff that I have to accomplish. When I tell people this they immediately go into this whole over-sensitive attitude. They say things like: “Don’t push yourself too hard…” or “You’re putting too much pressure on yourself!”

Better yet some people even say: “You can’t learn how to do all these things! You need to pick a couple so you can focus and excel in them.”

Since when did everyone become such pansies? Seriously! Don’t be too hard on yourself? We should all be demanding MORE from ourselves. You think anybody got anything done with that attitude?

Heheheh… Joke’s on them though, because you want to know a secret?

I CAN LEARN ANYTHING I WANT AND PERFECT IT TO MASTERY!

Listen, I’m not asking to cure cancer here… I’m not looking to go to the moon (although that would be amazingly cool). I’m looking to have some experiences in my life. I want to go back to school and become a comic book artist. I want to read 15 books a year. I want to run a marathon. I want to learn a language. I want to learn how to play guitar.

And that’s just in the next five years!

I’ve been trying to figure out why on Earth anyone would possibly say to someone “You can’t/shouldn’t do this”. And now, don’t get me wrong, people aren’t telling me no… but they are trying to limit me in some way, enough for me to begin questioning if it’s possible to do all the things I want to do. What I do know is that whether you think that you can or you can’t, you’re right.

If one wants to get a lot of things accomplished than one must get into the habit of being dedicated and making sure time is had for everything. Because my work schedule to so erratic, I’m going to assign tasks to specific days of the week. On its assigned day, I’ll be sure to spend an hour or two on that specific task, and by the end of the week, I’ll feel more accomplished.

Sunday – Reading
Monday – Drawing
Tuesday – Writing
Wednesday – Guitar
Thursday – Reading&Drawing
Friday – Writing
Saturday – Guitar

There, now that doesn’t seem like too much, does it? Now the trick is sticking to it.

Oh, and for those of you who don’t think it’s possible to dedicate yourself to so many things; to you I say…

 

 

One Response to “do ALL the things!”

  1. June November 8, 2011 at 1:30 PM #

    See…now I can from a family that said…Yes you can! No boys in our family, we were the boys. My dad took me to provincial court to sit in on a case when I was young, to see how the courts worked. I was always encouraged. And when I got a bit older my dad told me to make a list. Things I wanted to accomplish. And date them. Today. This Week. Three Weeks. Three Months. Six Months. One Year. Three Years. Five Years. Ten Years. Fifteen Years. Twenty. And I did. And I accomplished most. It helped keep me on track. Something to work towards. And you know what? I”ve had to start a new list. Not much to transfer over either. Dad was right. And mom was a great cheerleader. Like most parents, they wanted more for me. I look forward to the future, including jumping out of that plane! Keep reaching. This is when I know I’m alive.

Leave a Reply

